Tags

, , ,

Night RainIt’s raining this evening. Normally, I’m a rain guy.  I love the rain.  I love to walk outside, especially in the night or very early morning and smell the scent of the rain on the pavement and grass.  Normally it invigorates me.  Tonight is different though.

If you’ve seen the international news today you have a sense of what might be on my mind.  I’m not going to give the people who perpetrate acts like this the slightest bit of glorification or propaganda by describing what happened.  Hit up your favorite news source and I’m sure it will be on the front page.  If you really haven’t heard, click here for the BBC story.

it feels like a light has gone out in the larger world, a light that I’m afraid won’t come on again.

But why do I care, and what does it have to do with this rainy evening?

To me its both a simple comparison and a deep disturbance.  What do I mean by that? It just feels like every time something like this occurs a light goes out.  I’m not just talking about the light of the life of a young man who was defending his country, though that is of utmost importance, but it feels like a light has gone out in the larger world, a light that I’m afraid won’t come on again. Sheer violence and evil like this shakes me to the core, reverberating in the innermost places in my soul.  Maybe it shakes you as well.

Every time something like this happens, I feel a little less hope. This is, of course, one of the desired affects of acts like these.

Tonight, to me, these rain drops are tears of sorrow, tears for this young man and his family and tears for the damage to our world community caused through these acts.

They are tears that leave me filling utterly alone in a big, dark, and stormy world.

As many of us do, I turn to my faith for solace.  Not for answers, mind you.  I don’t think there any true answers with explanatory power for situations like this.

But I do seek solace, comfort, and hope.  I hope that one day things can be different. Tonight I came across this passage as I sought this hope:

“Justice will rule in the wilderness
and righteousness in the fertile field.
And this righteousness will bring peace.
Yes, it will bring quietness and confidence forever.
My people will live in safety, quietly at home.
They will be at rest.
Even if the forest should be destroyed
and the city torn down,
the Lord will greatly bless his people.
Wherever they plant seed, bountiful crops will spring up.
Their cattle and donkeys will graze freely.”

Isaiah 32:16-20 (NLT)

“They will be at rest.  Even if the forest should be destroyed and the city torn down.” That’s powerful, and it speaks right to wear I am tonight, listening to the rain.

May the God of peace, the peace that passes all understanding, grant us comfort in times of sorrow and distress, and give us the strength to serve and love one another to bring about Unity, Harmony, and Rest.

