Tags

,

IMG_20150325_200008I’ve been posting a lot lately about storms. There’s a couple of reasons for this.  One, the last few weeks have been tough for me with some pretty major changes going on in my life.  Two, I love weather.  I’ve spent most of the last couple of afternoons watching live storm chasing video from Missouri and Oklahoma.

It’s all fun and games when you’re watching a supercell, and even a tornado build out in some rural area, but these storms don’t behave themselves.  They hurt people, and they kill people.

Tonight there have been multiple reports of tornadoes in Oklahoma and Arkansas.  Not an outbreak by any stretch, but just one tornado is enough to ruin lives. In fact the AP is reporting that at least one individual lost their life tonight in these storms.

It puts my problems in perspective.

I’m still here.  I’m still in decent enough health, but Lord knows I could lose some weight.  I still have a job.  I still have a roof over my head.  Some other folks had their lives and livelihoods turned upside down today.

The picture above was taken in Moore, Oklahoma earlier this evening by Twitter User @chase__Rhodes.  You can view it on his timeline here. He says “Just found after the Tornado.  God is with us.”

You can see why this young man thinks this.  It would be so easy to poo-poo this as a random result of a random storm. It is certainly that.  But what if this is the way God chooses to speak to him, or to me for that matter?  Who are we to denounce that or limit God in that way?

You can believe what you want.  I think it’s a powerful picture.

I don’t know why things like this happen.  Certainly it can test the faith of those who experience these storms.  I remember huddling in a bathroom in Florida during a tornado warning and being scared out of my mind. I’m from Utah.  I’m used to baking summers, cold winters, and blizzards, but I’m not used to looking outside the window and seeing the air rotate!

But I digress. I don’t know why God lets certain things happen. On one hand, it’s easier to just dismiss these things as a meaningless mechanism and move on.  But to do that would discount the times in my life where I have really felt the presence of Christ, and I can’t do that anymore.

Maybe I’m just nuts, but if that’s true, at least I’m a nut who tries to love others and actively make the world a better place. If that’s the legacy I leave behind when I’m gone, I’m fine with that, even if I’m wrong about everything else and just end up as worm food.

For now I’ll continue to see God in some of these little moments, and I won’t be alone in that.  I pray for the people affected by these storms, and I ask you, as you finish reading this, to spare a thought or prayer for them as well.

