Tags

, ,

Scotus1

Emblazoned on the front of the Supreme Court building in Washington DC are four words: EQUAL JUSTICE UNDER LAW.  Today, in a 5-4 ruling, the court that meets and decides on matters inside that building held that those words, by virtue of the 14th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, apply to same sex couples who wish to have their committed relationships recognized by the government in the same fashion enjoyed by heterosexual couples.

Isn’t that amazing?

We’re barely ten years removed from the large scale passage of individual state ballot measures that condemned our LGBT brothers and sisters to second class citizen status in their relationships, but today…today those initiatives are consigned to the garbage heap of discarded ideas.

The words of Justice Anthony Kennedy:

No union is more profound than marriage, for it embodies the highest ideals of love, fidelity, devotion, sacrifice and family. In forming a marital union, two people become something greater than once they were.

There is no reason on God’s green earth why those ideals of marriage cannot exist between people of the same gender.

I was going to talk about some of the objections and some of the mean, nasty, and cowardly things I’ve read today, but I will not.  Not today.  Those people have had their day and now we move forward into a new day.  I’ve seen so many pictures of people getting married today, so many smiles on people’s faces, so much joy….so much LOVE. Today, this historical day, is about LOVE.  LOVE WINS.

There’s a term that’s been floating around recently.  Some people have been referring to Christians and Christian Churches who respect gay people and marriage equality as “affirming Christians” and “affirming churches.”

Affirming Christian.

I can’t think of a more beautiful thing to be called.

I am a Christian. I believe in God the Father, His Son Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit: the Gentle Comforter.

I AFFIRM that Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender people are children of God, fearfully and wonderfully made in His image, living as they are created to be.

I AFFIRM that Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender people are my neighbors, my brothers and sisters in Jesus Christ.

I AFFIRM that these wonderful, beautiful people should enjoy all of the same rights under the law that I enjoy.

I AFFIRM that where there is love, there is God also, because God is Love.

I AFFIRM that I will do everything in my power to ensure that the rights of my LGBT brothers and sisters continue to secured from this day forward.

Will you join me and affirm our brothers and sisters in the love of Christ?  I hope you will.

If you disagree with me and come across this blog, I humbly ask you that even in your disagreement, remain respectful of your fellow human beings.  It’s the least we are called to do.

If you are a LGBT person and come across this, please accept my congratulations, my blessing, and my love on this historical day.  Know that people like Franklin Graham don’t really speak for Christ or Christians.  Know that you are loved.

