Tags

, ,

BlowWindThere is lightning in the distance,
Oh, let the wind blow,
There is darkness all around me,
Oh, let the wind blow,
Let the world give all the hurt it can,
Let the evil one devise his plans,
I’m trusting in the great I Am,
Let the wind blow……

So this afternoon I’ve been sitting here on Itunes and YouTube going down a rabbit hole of songs from my past.  Specifically I’ve been looking at Christian songs, some of the songs that were ever present to me as I was growing up and helped form my faith.  As you know if you’re a regular reader of my blog you know that various circumstances led to me toss aside my faith for a period, I like to call it my own “wilderness period,” but that eventually things came full circle.  When they did, I found that the faith that had been built and nurtured as I grew up was still there for me.

So I decided to do a series here on the blog called “Faith Tracks” that will showcase some of the songs I grew up with and some of the ones that I’ve found in recent times to guide me on my journey.  I’m hoping that with some of the older stuff I can introduce some folks to some really great Christian music that kind of preceded a lot of the “praise and worship” style stuff that seems to be so much of Christian music these days.

So for this first entry I’m flashing all the way back to 1985.  Man, 30 years ago!  Go ahead and take a listen to this “Faith Track”–“Let the Wind Blow,” by the Imperials.

The first thing you probably notice is: “WOW, HOLY 80s SOUNDING BATMAN!”  Yeah. You got those 80s soft rocks riffs and beats with just a little synth thrown in. Isn’t it great?! That album cover, yeah totes 80s as well.  The Imperials themselves are an interesting group.  They’ve been around in one form or another for more than 50 years. They even recorded with Elvis!  They kind of evolved from a gospel group into Christian pop, which is what we hear in this song.  My family saw them in mid 80s, I would suspect on tour for this album.  My mom believes that the concert was at the old Salt Palace in Salt Lake City.  I would have been 7 or 8, but I do have some vague memories of it.

I’ve listened to this track quite a few times this afternoon, and it’s had an amazingly peaceful affect on me.  Not only does it bridge the gap to nice memories of growing up, but the atmosphere and lyrics can’t help but to deliver that sense of peace.

At the heart of the song is the metaphor of the Christian in a storm.  Thunder, wind, lightning, darkness, fury….these are powerful words that can reflect the trying circumstances of our lives, and I could go on all afternoon talking about various storms in mine.  Sometimes it seems like it’s pretty hard to keep standing in the face of the various things that assail us in life, and it’s really easy to feel worn down, especially if you’re standing on a foundation of sand, where the wind, and rain, and thunder just drives you back, sinking into the ground beneath you.

Christ promises something different.  He promises a solid foundation where as hard as the wind blows, as loud as the thunder rolls, as hot as the lightning flashes, He’ll still be there for you.  He’s not promising that you’re not gonna get wet, that it’s not gonna be a struggle to keep your feet, but even if (and when) you fall, the solid foundation of his grace and love will still be there for you to push yourself back up on.

Folks, that counts.  I’ve felt it.  I’ve taken a tumble and it took me a long time to stand again, but the foundation was still there, and Christ was right next to me the whole time, whether I realized it or not.  He’s there for you too.

Here are the lyrics in full:

There’s a storm on the horizon,
Oh, let the wind blow,
There is thunder in the heavens,
Oh, let the wind blow,
Let the rain fall down from the sky above,
Let the tempest roar ’til it’s had enough,
I’m trusting in the Lord of love,
Let the wind blow.

There is lightning in the distance,
Oh, let the wind blow,
There is darkness all around me,
Oh, let the wind blow,
Let the world give all the hurt it can,
Let the evil one devise his plans,
I’m trusting in the great I am,
Let the wind blow.

Let the wind blow… Blow as hard as it can,
Let the wind blow,
Upon the solid rock of God I stand,
Oh, let the wind blow.

There’s a storm on the horizon,
Oh, let the wind blow,
There is thunder in the heavens,
Oh, let the wind blow,
Let it’s mighty fury be unleashed,
Let the doubters fall upon their knees,
I’m trusting in the prince of peace,
Let the wind blow.

Let the wind blow… Blow as hard as it can,
Let the wind blow,
Upon the solid rock of God I stand,
Oh, let the wind blow.

Let it’s mighty fury be unleashed,
Let the doubters fall upon their knees,
I’m trusting in the prince of peace,
Let the wind blow.

Let the wind blow… Blow as hard as it can,
Let the wind blow,
Upon the solid rock of God I stand,
Let the wind blow, the wind blow.

Let the rain fall down from the sky above,
Let the tempest roar ’til it’s had enough, (let the wind blow)
Let the world give all the hurt it can,
Let the evil one devise his plans, (let the wind blow)
Let the rain fall down from the sky above,
Let the tempest roar ’til it’s had enough,
I’m trusting in the Lord of love,
Let the wind blow

“Let the Wind Blow,” by the Imperials.  Words and music copyright 1985 by Myrrh/Word Music.  No Infringement is intended.

I will show you what it’s like when someone comes to me, listens to my teaching, and then follows it. It is like a person building a house who digs deep and lays the foundation on solid rock. When the floodwaters rise and break against that house, it stands firm because it is well built. But anyone who hears and doesn’t obey is like a person who builds a house without a foundation. When the floods sweep down against that house, it will collapse into a heap of ruins.

Luke 6: 47-49 (NLT)

