Tags

,

SafyreThis evening I saw the story of little Safyre Terry on one of my social media feeds.  Perhaps you’ve seen it on the news as well since many national outlets have picked it up.

If you haven’t heard it yet, let me give you the rundown.  In May 2013, Safyre lost her entire family (her father and three younger siblings) in a fire that was deliberately set in her home. Firefighters found Safyre clutched to her father’s chest.  He had saved her life by doing that, preventing her from breathing in the super hot hair from the fire.  Still, little Safyre suffered burns to 75 percent of her body and lost a hand and a foot.  She also faces many surgeries in the future as she recovers from her injuries.

Most of us know what it’s like to miss loved ones who have passed on at Christmas time.  This poor little girl lost everything, I can’t imagine what it must be like for her.  Well, while she and her aunt were at the store this year Safyre saw a Christmas card holder shaped like a Christmas tree (pictured above). She said she wants to fill that tree up with Christmas cards from all over the world.

I admit, I cried when I read this story.  The next thing I did was come downstairs, open my new box of Christmas cards, and jot down a few kind words to this little girl.  It’s going in the mail TOMORROW.

You know, despite the troubles we face, life is so freakishly easy for most of us that actually have things like computers and cell phones on which to read or write a blog.  Most of us (thankfully) will never have to deal with a tragedy like that.  I just can’t imagine losing my whole family. Plus think about being just eight years old and having to face all the future difficulties that this little girl does.

Yet…she smiles. That smile touches my life more than my card will touch hers.

There’s so much hate in the world right now, so much anger.  So many of us spend so much money on our friends, our loved ones, and even ourselves at Christmas time, can’t we take just a few minutes, a stamp, and a card and give this girl something to be happy about?  I hope she gets more cards than she could ever imagine!

Here is the address should you feel so moved as to send her a card:

Safyre
P.O. Box 6126
Schenectady, New York, 12306.

Here is a link to an article from TODAY that gives more information on Safyre’s story as well as detailing some other ways you can give to her cause if you like.

May God bless this little girl and her family, and give her strength and comfort for the journey ahead.

