Tags

, ,

000loveendures“Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.” (1 Corinthians 13: 4-7 NLT)

Most of the posts I’ve made to this series talk about the old Christian Rock that I grew up with. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not too fond of most of what passes as Christian music today. The biggest problem I have with it is that 90 percent of it is totally praise based. There are times in your life, if you’re honest with yourself, when things aren’t going well and even the most faithful people don’t always feel like singing about how wonderful God and life are all the time. In short, I think that modern Christian music in this decade and the previous one leave little to no room for broken people. Think about it, if you’re really being crapped on in life, you might not want to go to church and sing a bunch of smiling happy songs about how wonderful it is because you follow Jesus.

A book I’m reading right now has a lot to say on this topic, so look for a post on that in the future, but for now, get this: Jesus knows you don’t always feel like praising him and singing happy songs. Jesus knows you hurt, he knows that you feel pain, because he experienced it himself.

But the other day I ran across this song by JJ Heller on a Spotify playlist. I’ve seen it posted with the title “What Love Really Means” and “Love Me.” When I heard it. I realized I had found something I had been looking for, a modern Christian song for broken people! I’m going to post the video here, followed by the lyrics, then I’ll talk about it a bit after that. Please give it a listen.

Here are the lyrics:

He sits in the corner where nobody sees
He’s the kid with the story
No one would believe
He prays every night
Dear God won’t you please
Could you send someone here
Who will love me?

Who will love me for me
Not for what I have done
Or what I will become
Who will love me for me
‘Cause nobody has shown me what love
What love really means

Her office is shrinking a little each day
She’s the woman whose husband has run away
She’ll go to the gym after working today
Maybe if she was thinner
Then he would’ve stayed
And she says

Who will love me for me
Not for what I have done
Or what I will become
Who will love me for me
‘Cause nobody has shown me what love
What love really means
What love really means

He’s waiting to die as he sits all alone
He’s a man in a cell who regrets what he’s done
He utters a cry from the depths of his soul
“Oh Lord, forgive me, I want to go home”
Then he heard a voice somewhere deep inside
And it said,
I know you’ve murdered and I know you’ve lied
And I have watched you suffer all of your life
And now that you’ll listen I’ll, I’ll tell you that I

I will love you for you
Not for what you have done
Or what you will become
I will love you for you
I will give you the love
The love that you never knew
Love you for you
Not for what you have done
Or what you will become
I will love you for you
I will give you the love
The love that you never knew

Pretty poignant isn’t it? At least it is for me. Think about the lyrics for a minute. We look at the first two verses of the song and think “Aww, sad!” Look at the third verse though. Somebody in prison, a murderer, a liar? Does God still love that person? The song says yes, He does, and I agree.

There is the real power of this song. No, really, despite EVERYTHING you’ve done, even the most heinous things, God still loves you. Do you believe that? Do you honestly believe that God still loves murderers and crooks the same way he loves you? I suspect many of us would say yes, we believe that in a theological/intellectual sense, but do you really BELIEVE it, deep down?

We often have an issue with that. You see, if God really loves them, then he expects us to love them too. Let’s be frank, most of us would never willingly put ourselves in a position to love those kind of people. We look at people who do things like prison ministries and we think “Wow, they’re a really great Christian, but surely God isn’t calling me to do something like that.”

That’s at the best level. At worst we indulge in thoughts like, “That person should get what they deserve.” I should know. I just spent a half hour being very cranky about the person who hit my car two days before Christmas and railed to my family about how he should get what he deserves.

Oops. Physician, heal thyself!

The truth is, not getting what you deserve is the essence of grace. If you really believe that nobody is beyond the grace and love of Jesus Christ, then the third verse of this song rings true. We are called to love people the same way God does.

But maybe you just want to be loved. Have you ever had someone who really loved you for you? Outside of my family I can maybe think of two people in my life who REALLY love me for me. It’s a powerful feeling.

And guess what, you know how God isn’t willing to give up on that person sitting in prison? He’s not willing to give up on you either! This sounds a lot like my last post, but the fact that Christ died for you is proof of that, proof of how much he loves you. Try to remember that, even in the darkest of times.

And hopefully God puts others in your life who will show you what loves really means as well.

Just don’t forget to reflect that love back to others when you receive it!

